Search

Search form

THE CALIFORNIA LAW RUSH OF 2002

THE CALIFORNIA LAW RUSH OF 2002

For more information on the new legislation contact:

Michael Lotito, Esq.

LotitoM@jacksonlewis.com

415-536-6322 or 415-722-6280

In a rush of new workplace legislation, California has become the first state to enact a provision for paid family leave for employees. Governor Gray Davis signed the legislation on September 23, 2002 as part of a slate of employment-related measures regulating areas as diverse as plant closing notice requirements to training programs for older workers.

Special Webcast Event: There will be a special audio webcast on October 17, at 10:00am Pacific Time, 1:00pm Eastern Time, on "The California Employment Law Revolution: A Great Leap Forward." Please see announcement below for details.

Below is a listing of the key measures signed by Governor Davis as of September 30, 2002. Where available, the official statement from the Governor's Office and an Internet link to the bill itself are included. A summary of the new laws is located within the Jackson Lewis website.

OCTOBER 17TH WEBCAST WILL DISCUSS NEW LEGISLATION AFFECTING CRITICAL MANAGEMENT ISSUES FOR CALIFORNIA EMPLOYERS . . .

A special audio webcast entitled, "The California Employment Law Revolution: A Great Leap Forward", will air on October 17, 2002 at 1:00 Eastern, 12:00 Central; 11:00 Mountain and 10:00 Pacific times. This one-hour program will review each piece of new legislation including how it alters existing law, the implications for employers, and practical suggestions for compliance. Program resources will include a PowerPoint visual presentation and live chat rooms beginning immediately after the airing. The price will be $95 per participant. Register online for this nationwide event at http://jl.itradefair.net/

For more information on the webcast please contact: Cindy Gallaher of Worksteps.com at cindyg@worksteps.com or 972-887-0029 x. 207.