Kyle B. Russell

Overland Park

P 913-981-1018 F 913-981-1019


Kyle B. Russell


Kyle B. Russell is a principal in the Overland Park, Kansas, and Kansas City, Missouri, offices of Jackson Lewis P.C. He represents employers in administrative charges and lawsuits involving a wide variety of statutory and common law discrimination and retaliation cases.

Kyle has also defended wage and hour collective and class actions involving alleged misclassification, off-the-clock work, failure to pay the proper overtime rate, and failure to pay wages when due. He also has extensive experience prosecuting violations of covenants not to compete by former employees. In addition to employment litigation, Kyle has commercial litigation experience defending multi-district and state-law consumer class actions and governmental investigations.

Kyle has experience training managers on a wide variety of employment law issues, including harassment, discrimination, retaliation, workplace violence, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and the Family & Medical Leave Act. He has also advised employers with respect to the implementation of nationwide arbitration agreement programs.

Prior to joining Jackson Lewis, Kyle practiced at a midwest law firm and previously spent eight years as in-house counsel for litigation, records management and legal systems for a Fortune 500 diversified financial services company, where he was responsible for developing and implementing records management, litigation hold and consumer arbitration programs.

Honors and Recognitions

  • The Best Lawyers in America©, "Lawyer of the Year: Litigation – Labor and Employment" (2023)
  • The Best Lawyers in America©, "Litigation - Labor and Employment" (2021)
  • Chambers USA, “Labor & Employment” (2022)

Pro Bono and Community Involvement

  • Candidate for state senator in Northeast Johnson County, Kansas (May-November 2012)
  • Gillis Center, Kansas City, Missouri, Board of Directors (2008-2011)
  • Johnson County Developmental Supports Governing Board, Member (2014-present)
  • Johnson County, Kansas, Democratic Party (County Chair 2010-2014, Treasurer 2004-2010)
  • Kansas City Spirit Awards Fundraising Committee, Co-Chair (2006-2011)
  • St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, Kansas City, Missouri, Member of Vestry (board of directors) (2009-2012)