Search form

Massachusetts Releases Draft Regulations, Contribution Rates for State Paid Family and Medical Leave

By Brian E. Lewis and Keerthi Sugumaran
  • January 28, 2019

The Massachusetts Department of Family and Medical Leave has released draft regulations for the Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (G.L. c. 175M). The proposed regulations, released on January 23, 2019, track many of the statute’s requirements. In addition to the draft regulations, the Department provided information on the amounts employers must contribute into the Trust Fund that will finance these paid leaves.

Before finalizing the regulations, the Department will hold several listening sessions throughout Massachusetts.

Financing Paid Leave

Beginning in 2021, nearly all Massachusetts employees will be entitled to receive up to 12 weeks of paid family leave to care for a family member or to bond with a new child, and up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave to address their own serious medical issues. To finance this paid leave benefit, starting on July 1, 2019, Massachusetts will collect contributions from employers, employees, and the self-employed at an initial rate of 0.63% of wages (the “Initial Contribution Rate”).

In terms of allocating the required contributions between employers and employees, the statute states that employers may deduct up to 100% of the contributions for family leave from employees’ wages, but may deduct only 40% of the contributions for medical leave from employees’ wages. In the guidance issued, the Department provided information as to how employers should allocate that 0.63% payment. For employers with 25 or more employees, the Department stated that 0.52% of the Initial Contribution Rate is designated for medical leave, while the remaining 0.11% of the Initial Contribution Rate is designated as family leave.

Accordingly, based on the allocation provided by the Department, employees are responsible for the entire 0.11% of the Initial Contribution Rate, which is designated as family leave. In addition, employees are responsible for up to 40% of the 0.52% Initial Contribution Rate, which is designated as medical leave. In other words, for each $1,000 of wages earned at an employer with 25 or more employees, the employer would contribute $3.12, while the employee would contribute $3.18 through a payroll deduction. Smaller employers (24 or fewer employees) will have the contributions funded exclusively through employee payroll deductions.

Next Steps

Jackson Lewis will attend the listening sessions and continue to monitor developments and any revisions to the draft regulations. In addition, Jackson Lewis will be scheduling a webinar on these draft regulations. As July 1, 2019, approaches, employers should start preparing to implement payroll adjustments to reflect the new contributions to the Trust Fund.

©2019 Jackson Lewis P.C. This material is provided for informational purposes only. It is not intended to constitute legal advice nor does it create a client-lawyer relationship between Jackson Lewis and any recipient. Recipients should consult with counsel before taking any actions based on the information contained within this material. This material may be considered attorney advertising in some jurisdictions. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

Reproduction of this material in whole or in part is prohibited without the express prior written consent of Jackson Lewis P.C., a law firm that built its reputation on providing workplace law representation to management. Founded in 1958, the firm has grown to more than 900 attorneys in major cities nationwide serving clients across a wide range of practices and industries including government relations, healthcare and sports law. More information about Jackson Lewis can be found at www.jacksonlewis.com.

See AllRelated Articles You May Like

August 21, 2019

Oregon Governor Signs Paid Family and Medical Leave Law

August 21, 2019

Oregon’s paid family and medical leave law was signed by Governor Kate Brown on August 9, 2019. Eligible workers will be permitted to take up to 12 weeks of paid leave under the new law beginning January 1, 2023. The bill (HB 2005) was passed by the state legislature at the end of June. When the law goes into effect, Oregon will... Read More

August 2, 2019

Puerto Rico Enacts Leave for Victims of Domestic Violence, Sexual Harassment and Assault

August 2, 2019

Employees in Puerto Rico may take up to 15 days of unpaid leave each calendar year to address situations related to domestic or gender-based violence, child abuse, sexual harassment in employment, sexual assault, lewd acts, or felony stalking under a new law. The new “Special Leave” is in addition to any other leave to which the employee... Read More

July 15, 2019

New Jersey Amends Medical Marijuana Law to Provide Job Protections, Include Drug Testing Procedures

July 15, 2019

New Jersey has provided job protections to medical marijuana users and created new drug testing procedures under new law signed by Governor Phil Murphy on July 2, 2019, that took effect upon signing. The new law also changes the name of the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (N.J.S.A. 24:61-2 et seq.) to the “Jake... Read More