Search form

Massachusetts Raises Minimum Wage, Mandates Paid Family and Medical Leave

By Douglas J. Hoffman
  • June 29, 2018

Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker has signed a sweeping bill that, over a period of five years, will: (1) raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour; (2) mandate paid family and medical leave for Massachusetts employees; and (3) phase out Sunday and holiday premium pay for retail employees. The law, signed on June 28, 2018, also will institute an annual sales tax holiday weekend. The first minimum wage increase, to $12.00 an hour, and first decrease in Sunday and holiday premium pay will go into effect on January 1, 2019.

Minimum Wage

Beginning January 1, 2019, the basic Massachusetts minimum wage will increase from $11.00 per hour to $12.00 per hour. On the same date, the minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $3.75 per hour to $4.35 per hour.

Subsequent increases are scheduled as follows:

January 1, 2020 — basic minimum wage: $12.75; tipped minimum wage: $4.95
January 1, 2021 — basic minimum wage: $13.50; tipped minimum wage: $5.55
January 1, 2022 — basic minimum wage: $14.25; tipped minimum wage: $6.15
January 1, 2023 — basic minimum wage: $15.00; tipped minimum wage: $6.75

A proposal to eliminate the tipped minimum wage altogether was proposed but ultimately not adopted.

Paid Family and Medical Leave

As part of the new legislation, Massachusetts will offer one of the most generous family and medical leave programs in the country. While the law is very complex and its requirements will be fleshed out by administrative regulations, the basics are as follows.

Beginning in 2021, most Massachusetts employees will be entitled to up to 12 weeks of paid leave to care for a family member or bond with a new child, and up to 20 weeks of paid leave to address their own serious medical issues.

The program will be funded by a new payroll tax at the initial rate of 0.63 percent, which goes into effect beginning July 1, 2019. Benefit amounts will be determined based on a percentage of the employee’s weekly income, up to a maximum of $850.00 per week.

The law also creates the Department of Family and Medical Leave, which will publish proposed regulations for comment by March 31, 2019. The regulations are expected to be finalized by July 1, 2019.

Although the right to take leave will begin in 2021, employers must take certain actions much earlier. For example, beginning July 1, 2019, employers must post a notice describing the benefits available under the law and provide each employee, within 30 days of hire, a written explanation of the employee’s rights.

The law also contains very strong anti-retaliation provisions. If an employee experiences any negative change in status within six months of a requested leave, the change is presumed to be retaliatory. To rebut this presumption, the employer must present clear and convincing evidence that the action was not retaliatory, and was instead based on an independent justification. The statute also includes a private right of action for employees, who can seek, among other things, reinstatement and treble damages for any lost wages.

We will have additional details on these new leave requirements as the effective date approaches and more clarity is provided by regulation.

Sunday Premium Pay

The Massachusetts “blue laws” currently provide that employees in many retail establishments must receive 1.5 times their regular rate of pay on Sundays. This requirement will gradually disappear over the next few years. Effective January 1, 2019, the premium pay rate for Sunday and holiday work will drop to 1.4 times the regular rate. The premium rate will decrease by 0.1 each year, until the premium pay requirement is eliminated completely on January 1, 2023.

However, the blue laws’ prohibition against requiring these retail employees to work on Sundays and holidays will remain in effect. Refusal to work on these days will not be grounds for discrimination, dismissal, discharge, reduction in hours, or any other penalty.

Next Steps

Massachusetts employers should ensure their policies and practices address these new requirements. Jackson Lewis attorneys are available to answer inquiries regarding the new laws and assist employers in achieving compliance.

©2018 Jackson Lewis P.C. This material is provided for informational purposes only. It is not intended to constitute legal advice nor does it create a client-lawyer relationship between Jackson Lewis and any recipient. Recipients should consult with counsel before taking any actions based on the information contained within this material. This material may be considered attorney advertising in some jurisdictions. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

Reproduction of this material in whole or in part is prohibited without the express prior written consent of Jackson Lewis P.C., a law firm that built its reputation on providing workplace law representation to management. Founded in 1958, the firm has grown to more than 900 attorneys in major cities nationwide serving clients across a wide range of practices and industries including government relations, healthcare and sports law. More information about Jackson Lewis can be found at www.jacksonlewis.com.

See AllRelated Articles You May Like

September 13, 2019

California Supreme Court Rejects Claim for Unpaid Wages under PAGA

September 13, 2019

Putting an end to employees’ backdoor attempts to recover unpaid wages in Private Attorneys General Act-only actions under California Labor Code Section 558, the California Supreme Court has ruled against allowing such claims. ZB, N.A., et al. v. Superior Court, No. S246711 (Sept. 12, 2019). This is surprising, as the Court provided... Read More

September 13, 2019

California Worker Misclassification Bill Closer to Enactment

September 13, 2019

The California Assembly has passed a bill that would require workers to be classified as employees if the employer exerts control over how the workers perform their tasks or if their work is part of the employer’s regular business. Assembly Bill 5 (AB 5) passed by a vote of 61-16 in the Assembly. Governor Gavin Newsom has stated his... Read More

September 9, 2019

Non-Agricultural Employers May Use Workweek Averaging to Satisfy State Minimum Wage Obligations in Washington

September 9, 2019

The Washington Supreme Court has confirmed that non-agricultural employers may use a workweek averaging methodology to satisfy the Washington Minimum Wage Act. Sampson et al. v. Knight Transportation Inc. et al., No. 96264-2 (Sept. 5, 2019). In other words, non-agricultural employers can satisfy their state minimum wage... Read More